New and Recommended Fiction

Favourites from our fiction section. Here you'll find the books that everyone's talking about, as well as the ones they should be.

The Essex Serpent

Sarah Perry

From the publisher:

THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER Overall Book of the Year and Fiction Book of the Year at the British Book Awards 2017 (Nibbies) Longlisted for the 2017 Baileys ...

The Debutante and Other Stories

Leonora Carrington, introduction by Sheila Heti, afterword by Marina Warner

From the publisher:

‘Leonora Carrington has unswervingly followed the intensity of her own particular vision and way of being . . . Her work bristles with a fierce, unconventional brand of ...

Ghachar Ghochar

Vivek Shanbhag

From the publisher:

A sensitive young man who is never named – along with his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and encounter ...

£10.00

I Hate the Internet: A Novel

Jarett Kobek

From the publisher:

In New York in the middle of the twentieth century, comic book companies figured out how to make millions from comics without paying their creators anything. In San Francisco ...

Towards Mellbreak

Marie-Elsa Bragg

From the publisher:

After many generations, it is now, in 1971, Harold who runs Ard Farm. Out on the fells, he feels his father’s presence, and there is hope that he, his grandmother and his ...

£12.99

Solar Bones

Mike McCormack

From the publisher:

This masterpiece of a novel, narrated in a single sentence, is an international literary sensation, winner of the 2016 Goldsmiths Prize and BGE Irish Book of the Year

Sorry to Disrupt the Peace

Patty Yumi Cottrell

Helen’s adoptive brother has killed himself. According to the internet, there are six possible reasons for suicide. But Helen knows better: she knows that six reasons is only shorthand for the ...

£10.00

The Walworth Beauty

Michele Roberts

From the publisher:

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate ...

£16.99

Ninety-Nine Stories of God

Joy Williams

From the publisher:

At a hot-dog-eating contest or at a demolition derby, in line at the pharmacy counter waiting for a shingles vaccination, living in a cave with a colony of bats: the Almighty ...

£10.00