CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medal Shortlists 2017

The shortlists for the two most respected prizes in children's literature are out: the Carnegie Medal, which celebrates outstanding writing for children and young people, and the Kate Greenaway Medal, for illustration in children's books. This year's list features the first translated work ever to appear: Dieter Braun's Wild Animals of the North, translated by Jen Calleja.

Wild Animals of the North

Dieter Braun, translated by Jen Calleja

From the publisher:

A gorgeously illustrated study of the Northern Hemisphere’s wild animals, this biologically accurate encyclopedia of beasts will enthrall all!

Famous German illustrator ...

£20.00

The Bone Sparrow: A Refugee Novel

Zana Fraillon

From the publisher:

Shortlisted for the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017. Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. A deeply moving story about a ...

The Wolves of Currumpaw

William Grill

From the publisher:

1892, New Mexico. A wolfpack roams the Currumpaw Valley, preying on the cattle and evading capture by the exasperated local ranchmen. Due to his knowledge of wolf behaviour, ...

£14.99

Wolf Hollow

Lauren Wolk

From the publisher:

Annabelle has lived in Wolf Hollow all her life: a quiet place, still scarred by two world wars. But when cruel, manipulative Betty arrives in town, Annabelle’s calm world ...

A Great Big Cuddle

Michael Rosen, illustrated by Chris Riddell

From the publisher:

Two of the biggest names in children’s publishing, Michael Rosen and Chris Riddell, come together in a new poetry collection.

£14.99

Beck

Mal Peet and Meg Rosoff

From the publisher:

The final novel from Carnegie Medal-winning author Mal Peet is a sweeping coming-of-age adventure, with all the characteristic beauty and strenth of his prose.

£12.99

Tidy

Emily Gravett

From the publisher:

From the creator of Meerkat Mail and Dogs, comes a very funny rhyming woodland story about the perils of being too tidy. Pete the badger likes everything to be neat and tidy ...

The Marvels

Brian Selznick

From the publisher:

The illustrated story begins in 1766 with Billy Marvel, the lone survivor of a shipwreck, and charts the adventures of his family of actors over five generations. The prose ...

£16.99

Railhead

Philip Reeve

From the publisher:

Zen Starling is a petty thief. A nobody. Destined to ride the rails to nowhere special. That is until Raven, a strange and mysterious figure, enlists him for one small job. ...

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

J. K. Rowling, illustrated by Jim Kay

From the publisher:

Prepare to be spellbound by Jim Kay’s dazzling depiction of the wizarding world and much loved characters in this full-colour illustrated hardback edition of the nation’s ...

£30.00

Salt to the Sea

Ruta Sepetys

From the publisher:

It’s early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land.