Gaudy Night: Lord Peter Wimsey Book 12

From the publisher:

The twelfth book in Dorothy L Sayers’ classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by actress Dame Harriet Mary Walter, DBE – a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie’s Poirot and Margery Allingham’s Campion Mysteries. Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . . At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the ‘Gaudy’ celebrations. But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice – and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.

Gayle recommends:

Harriet Vane appears in far too few of Dorothy L. Sayers’s novels, but she does take centre stage in the best, Gaudy Night. The mystery itself – a poison-pen in an Oxford women’s college – is good, but almost incidental: Gaudy Night is a meditation on women’s place in a world built by and for men; the competing pulls of work – specifically creative work – and family; the desire for freedom and independence within the confines of a relationship – questions that resonate just as strongly 80+ years later.

Other Titles of Interest