The Whistling

Rebecca Netley

£14.99

We send all orders via Royal Mail: within the UK, choose from 1st Class, 2nd Class or Special Delivery; for the rest of the world, International Standard or International Tracked. Delivery and packaging charges are calculated automatically at the checkout.

To collect orders in person from the Bookshop, choose Click and Collect at the checkout.


Michael Joseph
14 October 2021
ISBN: 9780241533994
Hardback
384 pages

From the publisher

SEND SHIVERS DOWN YOUR SPINE WITH THIS CHILLING AND GRIPPING STORY SET IN A FAR-FLUNG SCOTTISH ISLAND . . . THE PERFECT HALLOWEEN READ AS THE NIGHTS DRAW IN

'Chills you to your bones . . . More unsettling and beautiful than you can imagine' 5***** READER REVIEW
________

Alone in the world, Elspeth Swansome takes the position of nanny to a family on the remote Scottish island of Skelthsea.

Her charge, Mary, hasn't uttered a word since the sudden death of her twin, William - just days after their former nanny disappeared.

No one will speak of what happened to William. Just as no one can explain the hypnotic lullabies sung in empty corridors. Nor the strange dolls that appear in abandoned rooms. Nor the faint whistling that comes in the night . . .

As winter draws in and passage to the mainland becomes impossible, Elspeth finds herself trapped.

But is this house haunted by the ghosts of the past?

OR THE SECRETS OF THE LIVING . . . ?
________

Chilling, twisty and emotionally gripping, The Whistling is an atmospheric page-turner with shades of the classics, yet a unique character of its own, perfect for fans of Susan Hill and Laura Purcell

'I was sucked in from page one and read it in one fell swoop' 5***** READER REVIEW

'A wicked twist . . . brilliant, scary, clever. Horror writing at its best' 5***** READER REVIEW

'A great story with moments of heart-grabbing terror, beautifully written' 5***** READER REVIEW