Essays

From the publisher:

From the International Man Booker Prize-winning author of Can’t and Won’t and The End of the Story – a crystalline collection of literary essays for fans of Susan Sontag and Joan Didion ‘She’s a joy. There’s no writer quite like her’ Ali Smith ‘Among my most favourite writers. Read her now!’ A. M. Homes The visionary, fearless Lydia Davis presents a dazzling collection of essays on reading and writing, exploring the full scope of possibility within existing forms of literature and considering how we might challenge and reinvent these forms. Through Thomas Pynchon, Michel Leiris, Maurice Blanchot, Lucia Berlin, Joan Mitchell and others, he author considers her many creative influences. And, through these lenses, she returns to her own writing process, her relationship to language and the written word. Beautifully formed, thought-provoking, playful and illuminating, these pieces are a masterclass in reading and writing.

Other Titles of Interest