Gayle's Spring Picks 2020

A reissue of an Italian classic, several very good new novels, a feminist exploration of the city, Thom Eagle on fermenting and two (two!) books about the Pet Shop Boys.

error-icon Created with Sketch.

Please note that many books are currently unavailable for home delivery. However, we’re still able to send you some of our favourites, old and new – browse the full list at londonreviewbookbox.co.uk/collections/staff-picks.

Pet Shop Boys, Literally

Chris Heath

From the publisher:

The Pet Shop Boys are one of the most successful and unusual bands of the last five decades. They are the pop duo that proves pop music can be modern, ecstatic and playful as ...

£16.99

Pet Shop Boys versus America

Chris Heath

From the publisher:

No other pop group in recent history has faced fame with such intelligence, humour and shrewdness as the Pet Shop Boys. it is an unusually intimate portrait of two maverick ...

£16.99

A Woman

Sibilla Aleramo

From the publisher:

‘The first Italian feminist writer’ La Repubblica ‘To love, to sacrifice oneself, and to submit! Was this what all women were destined for?’ When her carefree, ...

£9.99

Burnt Sugar

Avni Doshi

From the publisher:

A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Deborah Levy, Jenny Offill and Diana Evans

£14.99

Death in her Hands

Ottessa Moshfegh

From the publisher:

From the Booker-shortlisted author of Eileen, a novel of haunting metaphysical suspense While on her daily walk with her dog in the nearby woods, our protagonist comes ...

£14.99