Sci-Fi and Fantasy New and Recommended

Following on from our startling ‘Crime Fiction Section’ innovation of 2017, in a move critics are calling ‘a gamechanger’, we've introduced – in the year of our Lord 2020 – a little thing we like to call a ‘Sci-Fi and Fantasy Section’. Have a look at a selection of our favourites below, or come to Bury Place to marvel at our truly original bookselling methods in person.

error-icon Created with Sketch.

Please note that many books are currently unavailable for home delivery. However, we’re still able to send you some of our favourites, old and new – browse the full list at londonreviewbookbox.co.uk/collections/staff-picks.

The Three-Body Problem

Cixin Liu, translated by Ken Liu

Nick Richardson writes:

Science fiction isn’t new to China, as Cixin Liu explains in Invisible Planets, an introduction to Chinese sci-fi by some of its most prominent authors, but good ...

£8.99

Tales of Pirx the Pilot

Stanislaw Lem

From the publisher:

From ‘A giant of twentieth-century science fiction’ (Guardian), the adventures of Pirx, a hapless everyman in outer space ‘By now he fancied himself something of a ...

£9.99

The Dispossessed

Ursula K. Le Guin

From the publisher:

One of the very best must-read novels of all time – with a new introduction by Roddy Doyle ‘Le Guin’s storytelling is sharp, magisterial, funny, thought-provoking and ...

£8.99

The Vorrh

Brian Catling

From the publisher:

Prepare to lose yourself in the heady, mythical expanse of the Vorrh.

£9.99

Kindred: The ground-breaking masterpiece

Octavia E. Butler

From the publisher:

Octavia E. Butler’s masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale.

£9.99

Exhalation

Ted Chiang

From the publisher:

From an award-winning science fiction writer (whose short story ‘The Story of Your Life’ was the basis for the Academy Award-nominated movie Arrival), the long-awaited ...

£16.99

Rosewater: Winner of the Nommo Award for Best Novel

Tade Thompson

From the publisher:

Rosewater is the start of a vibrant and compellingly told trilogy by one of science fiction’s most engaging new voices – perfect for fans of N. K. Jemisin’s The Fifth ...

£8.99