New and Recommended Fiction

Favourites from our fiction section. Here you'll find the books that everyone's talking about, as well as the ones they should be.

Painter to the King

Amy Sackville

From the publisher:

This is a portrait of Diego Velazquez, from his arrival at the court of King Philip IV of Spain, to his death 38 years and scores of paintings later. It is a portrait of a ...

Census

Jesse Ball

From the publisher:

‘CENSUS is a vital testament to selfless love; a psalm to commonplace miracles; and a mysterious evolving metaphor. So kind, it aches.’ David Mitchell, author of Cloud ...

The Last Samurai

Helen Dewitt

From the publisher:

`Fiercely intelligent, very funny and unlike anything else I’ve ever read’ Mark Haddon’A triumph – a genuinely new story’ A. Let loose on London, Ludo sets out on a ...

Ponti

Sharlene Teo

From the publisher:

Set in Singapore, and spanning fifty years, Ponti is a sweeping story of three women and the guilt that ties them to each other. For fans of Zadie Smith and Elena Ferrante.

Circe

Madeline Miller

From the publisher:

From the Orange Prize-winning, internationally bestselling author of The Song of Achilles comes the powerful story of the mythological witch Circe, inspired by Homer’s ...

Overland

Graham Rawle

From the publisher:

Welcome to Overland! Every day, his “Residents” climb through a trapdoor in the factory roof to shift model cars, shop for imaginary groceries and rotate fake sheep in ...

The Walworth Beauty

Michele Roberts

From the publisher:

From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate ...

Death in Spring

Merce Rodoreda, translated by Martha Tennent

From the publisher:

‘Soaringly beautiful, urgent and disturbing... A masterpiece.’ Colm Tóibín, from the introduction Death in Spring is a dark and dream-like tale of a teenage boy’s ...