New and Recommended Fiction

Favourites from our fiction section. Here you'll find the books that everyone's talking about, as well as the ones they should be.

What Red Was

Rosie Price

From the publisher:

An Observer Hottest-Tipped Debut Novelist of 2019 and Elle One To Watch‘I think this is the best debut fiction I’ve ever read... If you like David Nicholls, Tessa Hadley, ...

Convenience Store Woman

Sayaka Murata, translated by Ginny Tapley Takemori and Ginny Tapley Takemori

From the publisher:

Meet Keiko. Keiko is 36 years old. She’s never had a boyfriend, and she’s been working in the same supermarket for eighteen years. Keiko’s family wishes she’d get ...

Machines Like Me

Ian McEwan

Ian Patterson writes:

There’s a very short story by Diane Williams which came into my mind while I was reading Machines like Me, Ian McEwan’s 15th novel. It’s called ‘Machinery’ and ...

The Doll Factory

Elizabeth Macneal

From the publisher:

The Doll Factory, the debut novel by Elizabeth Macneal, is a story of art, obsession and possession set in Victorian London.

How We Disappeared

Jing-Jing Lee

From the publisher:

A beautiful, stunningly ambitious tale of endurance, identity, and memory, for fans of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko and Georgia Hunter’s We Were the Lucky Ones.

The Parisian

Isabella Hammad

From the publisher:

‘A sublime reading experience: delicate, restrained, surpassingly intelligent, uncommonly poised and truly beautiful’ Zadie Smith As the First World War shatters ...

Zeina

Nawal El-Saadawi

From the publisher:

A brave and haunting novel about motherhood and resilience, set against the backdrop of Egyptian’s revolution by Egypt’s foremost feminist writer and activist

Circe

Madeline Miller

From the publisher:

SHORTLISTED FOR THE WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2019 A NUMBER ONE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER CHOSEN AS A BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE GUARDIAN, TELEGRAPH, SUNDAY TELEGRAPH, I ...

The Language of Birds

Jill Dawson

From the publisher:

A hypnotic and thought-provoking novel inspired by the sensational Lord Lucan case, by the Orange Prize-shortlisted author of Fred & Edie.