The Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-Fiction 2020 Longlist

The Baillie Gifford Prize rewards excellence in non-fiction writing, bringing the best in intelligent reflection on the world to new readers. It covers all non-fiction in the areas of current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.

The longlist was announced September 10, 2020

The winner of the 2019 Baillie Gifford Prize is Hallie Rubenhold for her book The Five: The Untold Lives of The Women Killed by Jack the Ripper.

The Idea of the Brain: A History

Professor Matth Cobb

From the publisher:

This is the story of our quest to understand the most mysterious object in the universe: the human brain. Today we tend to picture it as a computer. Earlier scientists ...